Capture It with One Shot

Introduction

For this blog post, I did some research on photography to try and up my game! I found three basic ways to help mix up my shots and I am excited to see how I can start incorporating it into my photography as I move forward.

Rule of Thirds

The rule of thirds is pretty simple. Use a simple tic- tac- toe grid and line up the subject either with the lines or where the lines intersect. In this photo shown above, you can see that the dandelion is lined up with the lower right hand intersection. The cracks from the table also line up with the two horizontal lines from the grid. Below you will find a photo that I took that is also an example of the rule of thirds.

Photo by Emily Fleming

In my photograph you can see that the emergency pole is lined up with the right most line and I tried to line up the building section with the left most line. This creates balance and is more pleasing to the eye.

Leading Lines

Leading lines is one of the simplest ways to really bump up your photography. In the example above, you can see that there is a disappearing point in the center of the photo. Another way to mix it up is to have your disappearing point a little off center (you can incorporate rule of thirds) or have it end on the subject in the mid-ground of the photo.

Photo by Emily Fleming

This photo was interesting for me to capture since there was no actual subject sitting at the end of the lines. Maybe that is something I want to incorporate as I continue to work on my photography skills. As you can see, I have the lines from the retaining wall that all meet in the disappearing point of the photo. This creates a perspective that we don’t see in our daily lives and is interesting to the eye.

Field of Depth

Field of depth really helps the audience understand the subject of the photo. In the photo above the blue pencil is the only pencil in focus while the other colors are faded and in the background. This creates more depth between objects. It also helps us see the fine details of the subject.

Photo by Emily Fleming

This was the last of the photos that I took and it uses Depth of Focus. The wood chips and some of the leaves from the plant are in focus and as you look into the distance it becomes more blurred. This helps people understand the subject of the photo.

Conclusion

These tips and tricks helped me to understand photography and the artistic beauty behind each photo.

Leave a comment